The Word Logo



Browse by

Past issues

Visit us online
or on Facebook


printer friendly siteFA Website Icon
June 2017


Dozens of FA activists feted at June 1 appreciation dinner
Cynthia Eaton


Melissa Adeyeye, left, is our newly elected Executive Council representative for communication, languages, reading, TV/radio/film. With Melissa is long-serving EC rep Deb Kiesel, the PA/specialist rep for instructional labs. (photo by Dante Morelli)

The ways in which our members can and do contribute to our vibrant union are many and varied. That's why we look forward to the annual leadership appreciation celebration each year. On June 1, we thanked dozens of FA leaders and activists at The Snapper Inn in Oakdale.

Included at the event were the following:

  • Executive Council Representatives
  • AFT/NYSUT delegates
  • Web manager
  • Community outreach committee
  • Professors on Wheels volunteers
  • Holiday Party volunteers
  • Sabbatical committee
  • Faculty retraining & development committee
  • College personnel committee
  • Election committee
  • Mediation committee

As the photos below attest, plenty of smiles added to the already bright, lovely afternoon. Thank you to all who contribute to the good work of the Faculty Association! We need your efforts now more than ever.

kevin peterman   matt pappas and sean tvelia
President Kevin Peterman thanks dozens of FA leaders and activists for their service at the appreciation dinner.
Executive VP Sean Tvelia, right, chats with Matt Pappas, our newly elected NYSUT/AFT delegate and continuing EC rep.
FA activists Susan Fanning, Julie Hanauer and Jill Santiago enjoy dinner and conversation at the appreciation dinner.
From left are Courtney Brewer, Cynthia Eaton, Katelynn DeLuca, Lisa Behnke, Deb Kiesel, Kim Ng Southard and Christina Bosco.
From left are Ina Casali, Lisa Aymong, Joan Cook, Priscilla Pratt, Kristie David and Jamie Aridas.
Our FA treasurer keeps a close eye on all that happens in the FA—exactly what we love about Pete DiGregorio!
(all photos by Dante Morelli)