The Word Logo



Browse by

Past issues

Visit us online
or on Facebook


printer friendly siteFA Website Icon
February 2015


It's election season in the FA
Marie Hanna


As chair of the Elections Committee, I notify the membership that elections are being held for all six of the officers' positions and several Executive Council (EC) seats, according to the rules in Section VII.B. of the FA Election Procedures, which reads in part that “The EC rep in each constituency shall be designated the elections chairperson of that constituency, and shall conduct elections, unless he/she is running for office, in which case an acting elections chairperson shall be designated.”

Below you'll find the officers, delegates and EC reps whose terms are expiring (names are in parenthesis).

First, here is the election timetable:

  • March 12, 12:00 p.m.
Request for nominations: Click here for the .pdf form to submit by mail/interoffice or by hand; click here for the .docx form to submit via your Suffolk email account.
  • March 30, 12:00 p.m.
Close of nominations: nominations must be submitted to FA office in writing
  • April 6
Statements of no more than 150 words due for The WORD at the FA office
  • April 9
General membership meeting
  • April 10, 5 p.m.
Ballots mailed to the home in all college-wide open elections
  • April 29, 12 p.m.
Close of voting and ballot counting
  • May 14, 3:45 p.m.
Certification of election results at EC meeting
  • June 2, 1 p.m.
Term begins for elected officers, delegates and EC reps

FA Officers and Delegates

  • President (Kevin Peterman)
  • Executive Vice President (Sean Tvelia)
  • Secretary (Marie Hanna)
  • Treasurer (Joyce Gabriele)
  • Grievance Officer (Pete DiGregorio)
  • Adjunct Coordinator (Cynthia Eaton)
  • Delegate (Dante Morelli)
  • Delegate (Matt Pappas)
  • Delegate (Kevin McCoy)

Full-Time Representatives

Ammerman Campus
  • Math (Jane-Marie Wright)
  • Communications, Languages, Reading, TV/Radio/Film (Dante Morelli)
  • Library, Central (Michelle Fowler)
  • Social Sciences (Denise Haggerty)
  • Counseling and Cooperative Education (Matt Zisel)
Eastern Campus
  • Science, Math, Social Science, Business, Nursing, Culinary, PE (Nic Pestieau)
Grant Campus
  • Business, HVAC, CIS, Technology, ETU Coordinator (Ali Laderian)
  • Social Sciences (Andrea Macari)
  • Natural Sciences (Deborah Wolfson)

In the case of at-large college-wide, constituent-based PA representatives as well as the adjunct representatives, the FA Elections Committee will conduct elections.

College-wide Constituent-based Representatives
  • Programmatic (Maureen Arma)
  • Instructional Labs (Deb Kiesel)


Adjunct Representatives

  • Counseling, Education, Freshman & College Seminar (Leslie Derenfeld)
  • Culinary, Fire Protection Technology, Library, Electrical Tech, Drafting, Interior Design (Priscilla Pratt)
  • Science, Engineering, Automotive (Doug Cody)
  • English (Angela Ridinger-Dotterman)
  • Humanities (Michelle LaPorte)
  • Math (Russell David)
  • Guild/Retiree, PA/Specialist – Programmatic (Chris Gherardi)